Madoka Magica Game Featuring Homura, Mami, Sayaka and Kyouko

8bit awesomeness.

I ran into this short but entertaining game. It’s quite a small .zip file so download away!

You can play as Mami, Sayaka or Kyouko as you go through either Gertrud, Charlotte or Oktavia’s barrier. If I were given a choice of a favorite charater to play in this one, I guess it’ll have to be Mami, you’ll understand why if you play it.

Edit: Here are instructions:

The first option starts the game, the second one lets you choose whose barrier you want to enter: Charlotte’s or Gertrud’s. The third option is the character selection option(巴マミ:Tomoe Mami 美樹さやか:Miki Sayaka 佐倉杏子:Sakura Kyouko 暁美ほむら: Akemi Homura). The next option is for difficulty (easy mode is set by default), and I have absolutely no idea on what the fourth option is. I don’t see it affecting the game in any way. To change an option, press x, or to start the game, press x when the desired option is highlighted. to jump, press x, to attack(or conjure guns in Mami’s case), press z. To move, use the directional buttons. Also, the directional buttons play a part on how high your jump will be or what attack your character will perform, jumping can also affect the type of attack. I think that’s all you need to know if you want to play this game.

Thanks to baka~ for pointing this out.

Edit2: The game now (v1.04) includes the shy Homura from the second timeline!

Edit3: Oktavia von Seckendorf’s barrier is now available in v1.05!

  1. I’ve already made posts regarding the wish of making a platformer game featuring the Sono Hanabira girls. They did it so quickly with Madoka so why haven’t they done so with SH yet? Of course I’m downloading this game in the hopes of them releasing a full action Madoka game in the future where I can play as Homura.

    • I’m eagerly awaiting the one with Homura and Madoka in it.

  2. do you have any idea what the 4 options on the left side are at the start and is the enter key working for this game? =/

    • The first option starts the game, the second one lets you choose whose barrier you want to enter: Charlotte’s or Gertrud’s. The third option is the character selection option(巴マミ:Tomoe Mami 美樹さやか:Miki Sayaka 佐倉杏子:Sakura Kyouko). The next option is for difficulty (default is easy mode,), and I have absolutely no idea on what the fourth option is. I don’t see it affecting the game in any way. To change an option, press x, or to start the game, press x when the desired option is highlighted. to jump, press x, to attack(or conjure guns in Mami’s case), press z. To move, use the directional buttons. Also, the directional buttons play a part on how high your jump will be or what attack your character will perform, jumping can also affect the type of attack. I think that’s all you need to know if you want to play this game.

      • woot thanks for this… tried out the characters and it seems that Kyoko is the most complicated since you can do many combos with her spear… Mami is just fun and Sayaka is the most simple to use XD

      • Haha, no need to thank me. The thanks go out to the wonderful person/s who made this game. Personally, I prefer to use Mami because her Unlimited Flintlock Works looks so cool even in 8bit glory. She is also much easier to use in my opinion. I find Kyouko to be a little hard to use, maybe because her controls are more complicated than the other two.

  3. Now if they could make Mami Tomoe vs Kurt Angle, my life would be fulfilled.

    • I’m not much of an american wrestling fan, but I think I get what you’re talking about.

    • Nakande
    • March 18th, 2011

    When I downloaded this game for my sister, I noticed that they now have Homura from the original timeline.

  4. So we’ve got Mami, Sayaka, Kyoko and pre-badass Homura. You all know who else is left to play as and it’s not Kyubey.

    • @fkeroge: Awwww, I want to play as Kyuubee….

      Kyuubee: Make a contract with me and I’ll appear on the game!

      @fkeroge: Wait… I’m not a girl, and I’m already 17! Way past puberty, man.

      Kyuubee: Your distorted sense of morality can generate more internal energy for the universe than emotions of pre-pubescent girls!

      @fkeroge: Oh, really now? Then you should make a contract with yourself!

    • Yi
    • March 19th, 2011

    Tried it out and had lots of fun. I liked playing as Mami. ^ ^

    • Mami’s my favorite character in this game, too! ^^ She’s the easiest one to use. Though using Homura can prove to be very fun, with all the initial planning you can do with those pipe bombs!

    • Eiti
    • March 21st, 2011

    I want to play, but it have some problem, when i start it say something about 0.5. somebody know the problem?

    • Hmmmm… maybe you can try downloading the game again. There seems to be no problem when I tried it.

  5. Hey thanks for the link. ^^
    I’m gonna try Kyouko.

    • Haha, no problem! The thanks and credit all go to the creator/s of this game. I simply help in spreading it around.

    • Nakande
    • March 25th, 2011

    Version 1.05 is out now. The new feature is Oktavia’s barrier. It’s kind of funny how you can have Sayaka fighting herself.

    • Thank you for the update! I’ll get this post updated as soon as I can.

    • Nakande
    • April 2nd, 2011

    Version 1.07 now has Elsa Maria’s barrier. It’s very mazelike and I’m trying to figure out how to beat the witch.

  6. They should release Madoka herself already. Maybe she’s too godly to be a playable character or the game makers are waiting for the final two episodes…which should premiere eventually.

    • abscissa
    • April 3rd, 2011

    Thanks for sharing the link. Hopefully they will release the version with Madoka in it soon. 🙂

    • Maybe we’ll have to wait until the series ends or something. Either way, I won’t mind waiting.

    • Mimolette
    • April 4th, 2011

    We are actually trying to make an action RPG of Madoka o.o
    http://tinypic.com/player.php?v=212zgnb&s=7

    It’s on the very very early plan of development but I will plan to make it as grand as my current game in the making:

    Keep your eyes peeled *-*

  7. Best of luck and I will be looking forward to it as well. Make sure to make Kyubey the final boss, or a boss at least.

    • Mimolette
    • April 11th, 2011

  8. Great to see the RPG game’s progress. I wonder if it’ll be released before or after the finale on April 21st…I think.

    • Mimolette
    • April 11th, 2011

    Of course the anime will go first so we can work on our own story ^^;

    • Mimolette
    • April 15th, 2011

    O.O

    • prima
    • April 28th, 2011

    We have a detailed guide on the wiki, and apparantly a English localization has been complete: http://wiki.puella-magi.net/Magical_%E2%98%86_Inquisition_Squad

Leave a comment