I’ll be busy next season…

Winter 2011 provided us with quite a few anime to note and the next season’s anime look promising. I think I’d be watching more than usual because of the upcoming summer vacation in my country. For now, I’ll go through the shows that I think I’ll be watching next season.

Nichijou

While the title suggests a story of simple, everyday school life, the contents are more the opposite. The setting is a strange school where you may see the principal wrestle a deer or a robot’s arm hide a rollcake. However there are still normal stories, like making a card castle or taking a test you didn’t study for.

This is most certainly my KyoAni/Nonsense fix for this season. Whoever said that anime has to have plot, depth, death, powers and fanservice is watching too much Index. While anime with a great plot and story execution is very nice, it’s not really a bad thing to just sit down and enjoy a nice relaxing anime with nothing to worry about. I wouldn’t want all anime to make me all tensed up and thinking all the time.

[C]: The Money of Soul and Possibility Control

The Japanese government was rescued from the brink of financial collapse by the Sovereign Wealth Fund. For its citizens, however, life has not improved, and unemployment, crime, suicide, and despair are rampant. Kimimaro, raised by his maternal grandmother after the disappearance of his father and the death of his mother, is a scholarship student whose only dream is to avoid all this and live a stable life. One day, however, he meets a man who offers him a large sum of money if he’ll agree to pay it back. From then on his fate is radically altered as he’s drawn into a mysterious area known as “The Financial District.”

Ignoring the title that doesn’t make sense, I think this one is something that I’ll be loving this season. Based on what I’ve read so far, this is an original series that centers around money; somewhat like G-Senjou no Maou. The thing is, I’m a really pragmatic person, I love economics, politics and mafia-ish stories. I just love the idea of an anime being about good ol’ dirty manipulation for self interest driven by the omnipotent force of money. I’ll be having high expectations for this one.

Deadman Wonderland

Ganta Igarashi has been convicted of a crime that he hasn’t committed, and sent to a new, privately owned and operated prison, where the inmates are the main attraction in a modern day twist to the gladiatorial coliseums of ancient times. Throw in a healthy dose of weird little girl, some new-found super powers, and a little conspiracy theory, and you have Deadman Wonderland.

This was something that was recommended by a friend. I don’t really know what’s up with this other than the main character getting imprisoned at some creepy carnival after being framed by someone who killed off his entire class. Manglobe will be animating this, so I can be pretty sure that the animation will not fail.

Denpa Onna to Seishun Otoko

The story revolves around a highschool boy named Niwa Makoto. He lives with his aunt’s family since his parents are away on business. It is there where he meets his mysterious cousin of the same age Touwa Erio — who happens to tie a futon mattress around her upper body and is a self-proclaimed alien. Her staple food is pizza. Erio had been missing for half a year and was found floating in the sea. She doesn’t remember anything about what happened during that period of time, but she began to think that it was the act of an alien and wanders the neighbourhood wrapped in the futon.

THIS IS SHAFT! And maybe the only reason why I’ll be watching it. Hoping that it would be entertaining enough to keep me from dropping it.

Steins;Gate

Steins;Gate is set in the summer of 2010, approximately one year after the events that took place in Chaos;Head, in Akihabara.
Steins;Gate is about a group of friends who have customized their microwave into a device that can send text messages to the past. As they perform different experiments, an organization named SERN who has been doing their own research on time travel tracks them down and now the characters have to find a way to avoid being captured by them.

Well, I think that this is pretty much a given. IT’S NITROPLUS! I just don’t want this one to turn out as another season of Chaos;Head.

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai (AnoHana)

The series follows Jintan, a shut-in, who gets a request to fulfill a wish of one of this childhood friends, Menma. In order to grant Menma’s wish, Jintan must find and reunite with four other friends who have grown apart since graduating high school.

So far, anything done by A-1 Pictures provides me with eye candy and very nice stories. Also, based from what I know so far, this one has the chance of being a heartwarming series, or a senseless comedy… both of which are good enough for me.

Ao no Exorcist

This world consists of two dimensions joined as one, like a mirror. The first is the world in which the humans live, Assiah. The other is the world of demons, Gehenna. Ordinarily, travel between the two, and indeed any kind of contact between the two, is impossible. However the demons can pass over into this world by possessing anything that exist within it. Satan the god of demons, wants to pass over, but there’s one thing that he doesn’t have, and that’s a substance in the human world that is powerful enough to contain him!! For that purpose he created Rin, his son from a human woman, but will his son agree to his plans? Or will he become something else…? An exorcist?

Another one by A-1 Pictures, it’s a rather dark anime with the exorcists and all and looks a bit cliched, but I think I’ll be watching this.

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai 2nd Season

I watched the first season and liked it, so I don’t see a reason to not watch this one.

Hidan no Aria

The story takes place in Tokyo Butei High School, a special school where armed detectives — “Butei” — are trained to use weapons. Kinji Tooyama is a second-year-student who has a special ability, but he keeps it a secret to maintain an ordinary, peaceful life. However, when he gets caught in a bombing on the way to school, he encounters H. Aria Kanzaki, the most powerful S-Rank Butei student in Assault Studies.

I’ve been hearing good things about Hidan no Aria. I intend to watch it as long as it doesn’t get too generic. Not much to say about this.

Lotte no Omocha!

In the medieval fantasy world of Alfheimr, succubus princess Astarotte Ygvar, the first princess of the kingdom of Ygvar, has just reached the age of 10. For the coming years of a young succubus’ life, it is necessary for them to have a male harem. In order to maintain their body and preserve their beautiful appearance, they must consume a substance only found on males. This substance is a liquid called Sauzfryma, better known as semen. The princess, however, bears a great dislike against men, and only agrees to create a harem if a human male is to join.

To be honest, I really don’t know why I’m going to watch this. Maybe it’s because Diomedea animated it. They have some nice works like Ika Musume so I assume that it can provide some decent entertainment. I think I’ll see for myself how much underage ecchi I can take. Oh, I forgot to mention that they are also the ones behind the animation of Kodomo no Jikan.

 

Oretachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai

A big city filled with people and buildings. It is now winter. When you look up, there is the cold white sky. Young people with anxiety. Love. This is just a story you can find anywhere.

I don’t know much about the visual novel since I haven’t played it yet but having played Shuffle! and Soul Link, both by Navel (courtesy of Mangagamer), I think that Oretachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai can be at least as good as the others. I watched the Shuffle! anime too, and even though the anime went in a slightly different direction, it was still quite good especially how Kaede became yandere near the end of the series. I hope Oretachi can provide me with something unexpected, too.

Hoshizora he Kakaru Hashi

Kazuma has moved to a small town in the country. On his first day at school, he meets Ui when he is lost his way. They go to school together, but Kazuma accidently slips and kisse Ui. To make matters worse, Ibuki, Ui’s close friend, sees it. Well, what will happen to his new school life?

Hoping that this is not: a generic love comedy, a generic harem anime, or a fanservice anime. If none of those conditions are met, I’ll be watching it.

 

So there you have it. Or you can check my MAL if you want to.

  1. Good choices of shows to check out. I’ll be watching those as well as some others.

    • Well, it’s not really final yet, but yeah. I didn’t include the OVA’s because I’m too lazy to do it. Also, there are also some shows that are not in this list, but I didn’t include them yet because I’m not sure if I’ll be watching them.

  2. You dare question the greatness of the future president of the United States, a legend, an entrepreneur in comedy anime? An inspiration to future teachers everywhere?

    • That’s Osaka from Azumanga Daioh, is it not? If she is, then I haven’t finished it yet, so I can’t really say anything…

      • Ah, that explains a lot. you should finish it dood and acknowledge her ADD induced greatness.

    • Yi
    • March 12th, 2011

    The new season’s already upon us! So soon.

    Not to sure what I want to watch since I’m not too familiar with these titles. Probably picking up Stein Gate and Exorcist though, because one’s Nitro+ and the other about exorcism. Maybe Nichijou as well. I could always use some KyoAni nonsense.

    • I think [C] would be great, too. It’s one of my most anticipated series next season.

  3. Excellent way to use a futon.

  4. I don’t know how anime relates to homemade gasoline, though…

  5. I miss Osaka so much. A true hero, a visionary, a misunderstood genius, a virtuous person, a role model to teachers everywhere. the epitome of woman.

  6. Right! Wait, really?

  7. Madoka 10:
    Many things went through my head during this episode:
    1: No one is born a badass. Life events mold them into one
    2: Homura reminds me of Bruce Wayne and Lillet Blan. Yup, the DC comics references will never end with this show. I’ve made a vow to reference as many as I can think of. I wonder how many comics Lils has read over her lifetime up to this point?
    3: Even infinite clotheslines can be used to create other worlds.
    4: Grim Grimoire is one of the greatest hidden gem yuri games ever made in the 21st century.
    5: I need to watch Groundhog’s day at least once.
    6: When a megane turns commando, never ever piss her off and always have badass music playing in the background to match her dark evolution into “Poker Face”.
    7: Elfen Lied is still awesome to this day.
    8: Battle Royale should have never have had a sequel.
    9: Since when did Rock and Roll take a backseat to Justin Bieber and the Jonas Brothers?
    10: If there isn’t any material for MadoMura after this episode, I’ll make a Youtube vid of myself eating gym sock soup.
    11: BATMAN!
    12: And so we finally reach this point in the story as was foretold in the book of Incubator and fried organs.
    13: Homura still looks awesome with glasses and pigtails.

    With that I bid you adieu till the next week.

  8. As a matter of fact, there already are MadoMura doujins lying around the net now.

  1. March 5th, 2011

Leave a Reply

