A Promise to Myself

THIS WAS WHAT I WAS WAITING FOR THE WHOLE EPISODE! Too bad another one of him pops out and eats the corpse...

 

I’ve been posting a lot of stuff about Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica recently. Most of these posts were about my views about an episode fueled by my recently discovered habit of speculation and small “research”. While Madoka Magica is something that I really enjoy, it feels like it lost some of its unpredictability to me because of my sometimes annoying new found habits. I still like to speculate over things unknown but doing it too much really just kills the mood of a really good show (at least for me).

Now I, @fkeroge, promise myself to maintain speculation in healthy levels. I will avoid doing excessive reading that may lead to excellent work being less enjoyable.

However, I will still continue to support yuri pairings in the show, namely the MadokaXHomura and the SayakaXKyouko pairing.

  1. Yuri shippings are good, but the most likely on is definitely Homura x Madoka.

    • Too bad they probably wouldn’t get a happy ending knowing works like Phantom and Saya no Uta.

      • Since it has never been a burden or a necessity to go deeper into the subject matter, I never bothered doing so. I just see it as something for online otakus to do because they want to become smarter or something, which is why I’m not complaining against their obsessive research into the subject matter. As long as it keeps bringing more views to the show, by all means decipher as many codes, symbols, folklore and whatnot as you wish.

        The only way I’ll ever become a conspiracy nut is if they graded me for going deeper into Madoka’s subject matter. however, at the moment at the moment I’d rather watch the show and do my research based on the episodes themselves.

      • P.S.: I applaud Shaft for creating such an amazing villain. It’s been a while since I’ve seen a villain get this much heat. The only close 2nd this year was that possessed Masou Shoujo from the Zombie show but even she pales in comparison to…INCUBATOR! My hat goes off to you Shaft for once again being awesome.

      • Incubator is by far one of my favorite villains of all time, comparable to the Joker and Lex Luthor.

  2. Looking at that picture for too long hurts my eyes.

    • It’s actually eye candy for me… or am I just weird?

      • I don’t like Kyubey either but the unholy sight of all those blood holes makes me want to scratch my eyes and I’m not allowed to do so after my eye operation last Summer.

      • Must be hard for you…
        For me, I was practically screaming: “YEAH!! WHOO!!” at that moment.

  3. afkeroge :
    Must be hard for you…
    For me, I was practically screaming: “YEAH!! WHOO!!” at that moment.

    You don’t understand my friend. It’s not the event itself that made me scratch my eyes (because like the rest of the episode, it was awesome), it’s that picture. The multiple holes in all of those positions. If it were just one hole in the center of Incubator’s head, then I wouldn’t mind. But the placement of those things makes me cover my eyes each time I reply to your comments or blogs.

    Anyway, just one more day before the next episode. I can’t hold back the excitement.

    • Sorry about that, dood.

      Episode 9: [rant] HOLY…..!!!!! THIS CAN’T BE HAPPENING!!! I WON’T ACCEPT IT!!!! NEVER!!!!! [/rant]
      Personal feelings aside, it was kind of expected that it would turn out like this, so, yeah… I was kind of depressed after this episode. Mr. Urobuchi does his stuff well, I say.

        • EmperorG
        • March 4th, 2011

        Who didn’t you want to die exactly?

      • Well, I didn’t want Kyouko to die but it was inevitable and kind of hinted at episode 8 and 9. Still, it’s pretty hard to accept because I liked her character ever since she showed up.

    • EmperorG
    • March 4th, 2011

    Ep9:
    -1st question: why were they walking on railroad tracks?
    -This is so Kingdom Hearts. BTW, I bet everyone who paid attention immediately said DUH at the sight of what kind of Witch Sayaka’s soul turned into.
    -Okay, this would be awesome if it came true. Check me out on this one. Incubator’s true form, is Xehanort! I’m going completely off the conspirator bandwagon and into my fantasy world with this. I’m having so much fun with this insanity that I’m just making stuff up as we head deeper into chaos.
    -THAT’S IT! INCUBATORS ARE MONITORS! We should do something! Should we do something? We should do something! Nah we shouldn’t. Should we do something?
    -Ow. Reverse psychology, or stating the obvious. Kyubey, you are a shrewd Mephisto plushie. I salute your demented logic.
    -Okay, can this thing teleport or something? Homura has the same ability.
    NO WAIT! INCUBATORS AREN’T MONITORS, THEY’RE BRAINIACS! Why does this show remind of DC villains all of a sudden? First some of my buds compared Kyubey as an up and coming supervillain equal to the likes of The Joker and Lex Luthor, now I’m suddenly comparing him to major DC antagonists such as a Monitor and Brainiac 1.
    -Kyubey and Kyoko may have some good poker faces but they pale in comparison to Homura’s now iconic poker face.
    -I guess a shocker is just enough to turn an anti hero into a basic hero.
    -Unlike Yumekui Merry where the music is a bit overboard, the music in Madoka fits it perfectly. I so want the OST of this show.
    -Out of all the henshins so far, Kyoko’s was the ecchiest. I guess I forgot about Mami’s but I’m guessing Kyoko’s the ecchiest. However, considering this show’s theme, the ecchi level is thankfully low.
    -Wise words from Kyoko.
    -Quite an interesting fight between Kyoko, Madoka and Witch Sayaka.
    -KAMIKAZE!
    that’s all for this week. I’ve pretty much lost my mind.

    • EmperorG
    • March 5th, 2011

    afkeroge :
    Well, I didn’t want Kyouko to die but it was inevitable and kind of hinted at episode 8 and 9. Still, it’s pretty hard to accept because I liked her character ever since she showed up.

    It was indeed a major loss but she went down in a blaze of of glory so she will not be forgotten that’s for sure.

    • Still… she was one of the characters I liked the most.

      Haaaah, I need to stop getting attached to characters. It affects rational thinking.

    • EmperorG
    • March 5th, 2011

    She certainly made an impact and her back story was a most interesting one. I do feel sadder for her than I did for Mami, mostly due to the fact that we got to know her much longer. Thank you Kyoko for being awesome and a great anti-hero turned hero. Now there are only two as the final battle against the ultimate witch and hopefully Incubator draws closer. Will Madoka become a Magical Girl? Will homura reveal the truth to her? Will she take off her clothes and kiss Madoka in the nude, or rape her ala Chikane Himemiya? Will Homura stop being such a badass? I doubt it.

    • >”Will she take off her clothes and kiss Madoka in the nude, or rape her ala Chikane Himemiya?”
      XD
      >”Will Homura stop being such a badass?”
      No.

    • Yi
    • March 12th, 2011

    It seems like everyone following this series is doing a lot of active speculation, analysis, thinking, and “research”. Haha.

    Anyway, with the latest episodes, Homura x Madoka is so official!

  4. afkeroge :
    Still… she was one of the characters I liked the most.

    Hey me too. :3
    Although it might be because she have same similarity with me. ;p

    • I really like every part of Kyouko’s personality. I wouldn’t call her selfish, she’s just pragmatic in my opinion. That’s a very good mindset to have, disregarding human morality, though it’s not widely accepted.

      • Well I guess so.
        Selfish might be too strong to be used on Kyouko case.
        Pragmatic might fit better for her.

      • We can also argue that she’s quite selfless in her own way. She only wants to use magic for herself because it will only bring sadness for her loved ones. Her case was justified in her family’s case.

      • I personally think she might realised that miracle and magic is not all sweet and beautiful as most people believe and using those magic/miracle will not automatically give happiness.

        That’s why she’s trying to use them only for herself, because she don’t want to regret her action using magic only cause trouble to other person again and in the end grief to herself.

        eh… did I just drank some alcohol or something?

      • “I personally think she might realised that miracle and magic is not all sweet and beautiful as most people believe and using those magic/miracle will not automatically give happiness.”

        That could work.

        Kyouko’s really kind. She’s cares for Sayaka, Madoka and even Homura if you take the time to notice.

    • “Kyouko’s really kind. She’s cares for Sayaka, Madoka and even Homura if you take the time to notice.”
      Agree… Although it’s not really apparent at first.

      I can see her kindness for Sayaka and Madoka easily.
      But for Homura, it’s kinda difficult.
      I can only see their relationship as purely professional.
      She has very little time to interact with Homura.
      And Homura single target sexuality for Madoka doesn’t help at all.
      Homura ignored any attempt to befriend her except if it comes from Madoka.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

