My List for 2010

After a year of mixed emotions and college hell, I hereby present my anime list for 2010. I’ve only started to take anime seriously this year so I might have missed some good shows that deserve mention.

Series

Shinryaku! Ika Musume

I must say that this may be the best anime out there that can be enjoyed by everyone. It has a very relaxing pace, with amazingly funny antics coming from everyone in the cast. This is a great watch for those who want to take a load off their shoulders.

Seitokai Yakuindomo

Needless to say, this is one of the best handled adult humor anime I have ever watched. The characters are very “well made,” the jokes are funny, the comebacks are funny, the parodies are funny, the flashbacks are funny and GEORGE is funny!!!

Angel Beats!

My vote as the best tear-jerker of the year (not that I’ve watched another one). Angel Beats has the Jun Maeda magic, even though he didn’t give it as much as Clannad. This show is guaranteed to put the soft at heart to uncontrollable fits of crying. Not as great as the other Key works, but still great, nonetheless.

Strike Witches 2

The generous fanservice, the magical warfare, the guns, the girls, the yuri. What’s not to like? It’s been improved dramatically since the first season, giving the characters more depth and personality. Definitely the best fanservice anime of the year for me.

K-On!!

Despite all the controversy, the haters, the moe crowd, the haters, the excessively mundane parts, and the haters, K-ON!! delivered nostalgia, and a lot of it. It’s high school life at its most ordinarily beautiful presentation. It has friendship, school life slivers and Azunyan.

A random pic.

Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii wake ga Nai

Arguably the best Otaku-themed anime out there, slightly better than Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu. It has anime, eroge, cosplay, incest, the bash to a cruel society and a maid uniform wielding, nekomimi donning Kuroneko. This anime may have shown people that otaku are not really that bad after all.

Amagami SS

This show boasts the several crowning moments of sweetness in anime this year. What’s not to love about the nice character design and art? Not to mention all of those, warm moments of pure and innocent love.

Baka to Test to Shoukanjuu

This is quite a unique take on an anime that involves grades in different areas. It also has a very interesting battle system.

Yosuga no Sora

Yosuga no Sora. It’s THE adult anime of the year. It shows what no other 12-episode anime has ever shown before. If you’re younger than 17, this is not for you but it’s definitely good for those with a liberal mind.

OVA’s

Koe de Oshigoto!

This is a must watch for those who actually play eroge. No more should be said.

Sono Hanabira ni Kuchizuke wo: Anata to Koibito Tsunagi

Warning: This show is rated: R-18

Romance. Yuri. The relaxing atmosphere. I believe all yuri fans, by hook or by crook have their hands on this OVA.

Black Rock Shooter

The OVA with all the action, the slice of life, the dark themes, the heaven you see with your yuri goggles on and my confusion. These are the things that made this OVA turn up in my list. Ahh… Mato and Yomi…

Movies:

Mahou Shoujo Lyrical Nanoha the Movie 1st

The movie generally improved most parts of the anime, it has better graphics, save the eyes, more epic magical battles, and a more or less deeper development.

Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu

Arguably the anime movie of the year. Just watch it. I’m not much of a Haruhi fan, but I still found the movie to be breathtaking. Nothing more needs to be said.

There are still quite a few series that I haven’t finsished yet, so consider this to be incomplete.

Still watching:

Dance in the Vampire Bund and Sora no Woto. And they’re looking to be great.

    • Yi
    • January 12th, 2011

    I still need to watch both movies. I’m pretty excited about it though, especially the Nanoha movie.

    As for the others, I’ve seen Ika Musume, K-On!!, OreImo, Strike Witches, Angel Beats, BRS, and Sono Hanabira from this list. All of those are pretty good; some are even real gems. SW2 is definitely the best fanservice anime of the season, and probably the best I’ve seen.

    2010 was pretty good in terms of anime.

    • Amagami is really good too if you want something with a very sweet story (not yuri, though. Haha!).

  1. I suppose I’ll check out Amagami. I avoided it because it didn’t interest me at all or it had a cliche harem feel to it. however, it sounds more along the lines of Bakemonogatari and Golden Boy (Help random girls with their problems.)
    Anyway, great list, nearly identical to my own. Sadly, I saw the movies in 2011 so I couldn’t add them to my list but yeah, kudos to mentioning both Haruhi and Nanoha.

    • Amgami is really nice, while it’s really a harem anime and a bit cliche, it’s very sweet and gives you that nice, warm feeling at the end of each arc.

  2. I have a question: Is the video game pic featuring the K-ON ladies (Or created characters that look like our heroines) a real game?

    Glad to hear you enjoyed Seitokai Yakuindomo for the exact same reasons I did, as written on my G-View of it.

    This is impossible, Yosuga no Sora was…GOOD?! NO! The world’s destruction is closing in on us! How could that piece of crap have been good?! The very thought baffles me. I would like to say to each their own but the thought of that show in particular being good baffles me.

    • That K-On! pic was one that I found on 4chan some time ago. It was a mod(?) of Left 4 Dead 2 that makes the characters look like the K-On! girls.

      SYD was awesome.

      Yosuga no Sora was good in its own. I didn’t like the very naughty scenes, but the themes were very mature and kind of original. I guess that’s why I like it.

      • Ah, that’s cool. I should have guessed that it was an LFD mod(?).

        Seitokai Yakuindomo, Seitokai no Ichizon and Gokujou Seitokai. It’s like any show with the word Seitokai in it is guaranteed to be awesome. I enjoy watching them over and over.

        I’ll admit one thing, YnS is better than Aki Sora at least, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it. I guess I’ll label it as a semi good semi-H then.

      • I haven’t finished Seitokai no Ichizon yet and I haven’t even started watching Gokujou Seitokai. I guess I should someday.

        Aki Sora is… something that I regret watching…

      • “Aki Sora is… something that I regret watching…”
        er… Was it that bad?
        I haven’t touch it.
        I’m still watching my other backlog while I take a break from studying. :3

      • Aki Sora is something that I think was done in bad taste. It could have been good but it just came out messed up. Yup, I think it’s more messed up than Yosuga no Sora if you really think about it.

  3. Of all the Seitokai anime, Gokujou Seitokai is the least dirty. Actually it’s not dirty at all. It’s lighthearted fun, ala Azumanga, just not as insane. SnI: I think you have already followed the: Enjoy the 1st 15 minutes of the show and go to the bathroom during the last few minutes (aka, when Key-kun gets to shine and not suffer).

    Aki Sora…I’d rather watch Kuttsukiboshi episode 1 ten times than watch that pile of rat corpses two part OVA again. Nah, I’m lying. I didn’t even make it past the 1st H-scene.

    • Hmmmm… I think I would like a lighthearted seitokai anime.

      • Then GS is the show for you. I do hope you won’t dislike Rino though. She’s not an annoying character. You’ll see once you star watching the show that she’s just…naive.

      • I’m not really annoyed at any character in any show, anime or not. I always tend to hold my judgement on personalities until the show is over, and I think that’s a good thing for making the best judgement possible.

  4. Well then, we can conclude that you’ll have absolutely no trouble at all enjoying GS. Now I must go and watch some of the other great shows that I’ve missed last year. Not immediately but I’ll put them on my watchlist.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

