School Days and Human Psychology

I decided to post something about School Days since Overflow released a remake of this rather unique game. *Spoilers ahead*

As some of you already know, School Days is a visual novel turned anime and manga. It stars anime’s worst playboy, Makoto Itou. The visual novel is also infamous for its bad endings which involve violent deaths of either Makoto or the heroines.

I personally liked this visual novel because it portrayed what it’s like to be in a harem in the real world. It does not try to provide a generic solution to harem relationships just like that. Instead, it shows the heroines become jealous or even go crazy because of the insensitive protagonist.

For me, this is not just another violent visual novel, but it’s more than that. After analyzing it, I found some useful info on how the human mind works. And interestingly enough, the events in the game may apply to real life as well.

Jealousy is a very dangerous emotion. And School Days really tells us so. As Thomas Hobbes states the three principal causes of quarrel: competition, diffidence and glory, I figured something on why Sekai or Kotonoha act as they do in the visual novel. It’s in human nature to try to eliminate any competition that they encounter because of insecurity. Since Makoto is a guy who would fall for temptation very easily, the levels of insecurity goes up for both heroines, making them act more and more like uncivilized people stated in Hobbes’ State of Nature, leading them to do seemingly unbelievable acts of killing or committing suicide.

I see Kotonoha committing suicide as as retaliation against Sekai’s victory in the battle for Makoto’s love – she went for a “no one wins” solution by breaking Sekai and Makoto up because of the incident. And about Sekai killing Makoto in another ending, it’s Sekai’s way of eliminating the source of insecurity, the guy himself.

Overall, I think School Days is something that I would never ever forget even after I die. It gave me something to think about back in my high school days about the way people act and think, and provided me with insight I needed to grow out of my overly conservative self back then and allowed me tolook into the more liberal side of things.

    • Yi
    • January 8th, 2011

    Fascinating read on School Days. ^ ^
    I haven’t played or watched this, but I had heard about the bad ends. School Days should be commended for not being afraid to portray jealousy and the consequences of harem in such a dark way.

  1. school days was My beast anime but now withs end I hated I was crying at last episode because I am small and I got 13 years old.

  2. you are in reality a excellent webmaster. The web site loading velocity is amazing.
    It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a magnificent process on this topic!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

