My Head Hurts (in a Good Way)…

A psychological Seinen manga that I picked up not too long ago.

Synopsis from Mangafox:

Congratulations! You are one of the 1 in 100,000 people who have been entered in the amazing LIAR GAME TOURNAMENT!

Along with the postcard there are 100 million yen in notes. That’s the beginning of the Liar Game. When the game ends, in 30 days, you will have to return your 100 million. If your opponent steals them, he can keep them as a prize, and you will have a debt of 100 million…

Nao Kanzaki has been dubbed a “foolishly honest girl” for her excessive faith in the best of others. When a package arrives in at her house, she, unsuspecting, opens it only to discover her admittance into the Liar Game –a twisted, tournament game involving 100 million yen! The profits are high, but so are the prospects of losing.
Allying with an ex-convict, how will she be able to cope with the circumstances? And what is the true intent of the corporation behind the Liar Game?

My head hurts too much to write an original synopsis, so I took one from Mangafox. Anyway, the Liar Game is no way near simple. It’s a battle of wits, and wits alone. At first, it may seem simple, but the game unfolds into something that tackles aspects of human psychology. It is a game of deception and lies. A game that will make you want to change your thinking patterns. Undeniably amazing.

I find myself loving anything that’s related to psychology. This series gave me something that I thought was better than Death Note. I’m gonna spoil things if I keep talking, so I’ll keep quiet for a while. What I can say is that it is a battle between truth and lies.

I recommend this manga to anyone who wants a good break from all those high school love stories out there and wants a more serious read.

And for those J-drama addicts out there, I heard that there’s supposedly a live-action drama adaptation for this (NO ANIME!?).

    • Yi
    • October 27th, 2010

    There is indeed a liar game J-Drama. It wasn’t that impressive though when I watched it with my sister, and I don’t think it did the manga justice. 😦

    • Yah. I heard from my friend that the manga was indeed better. Still hoping for an anime, though.

    • Eshita13
    • June 1st, 2011

    Hi, I have read up to 138 chapters and i think it is still ongoing. Believe it or not this manga is something more than awesome. The way it describes the situation and all the psychological stuffs are really cool. I give this manga 10 out of 10. I wish they release the rest of the chapters soon. 😀

    • There’s going to be an anime of it in fall, I think.

        • Eshita13
        • June 1st, 2011

        wow!!! that’s a great news, thanks for sharing. Anyway, do you have any idea when will be the next volume released? 😀

      • Unfortunately, I don’t… I heard that the author is on an indefinite hiatus.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

